T Levels

You may not have heard of T Levels as they’re relatively new and are currently only offered in England. They were introduced in 2020 and won’t be rolled out fully until 2023.

What are T Levels? 

T Levels are technical qualifications that offer young people an alternative to A Levels or apprenticeships. The two year courses are equivalent to three A Levels and have been developed with employers and businesses to ensure what’s taught meets the needs of industry and prepares students for work, further training or study. 

What does a T Level involve? 

Similar to apprenticeships, T Levels include a mixture of classroom learning towards a technical qualification and on-the-job’ experience via an industry placement. 

The technical qualification includes core theory, concepts and skills for the industry area and the specialist skills and knowledge needed for an occupation or career in the sector. The industry placement is focused on developing practical and technical skills and will last at least 45 days.

Students will also have to study maths and English if they have not already achieved grade 4 at GCSE.

What subjects are T Levels available in? 

Currently, T Levels are available in:

  • Design, surveying and planning for construction
  • Digital production, design and development
  • Education and childcare
  • Building services engineering for construction
  • Digital business services
  • Digital support and services
  • Health
  • Healthcare science
  • Onsite construction
  • Science

From September 2022 T Level courses start in these subject areas:

  • Accounting
  • Design and development for engineering and manufacturing
  • Engineering, manufacturing, processing and control
  • Finance
  • Maintenance, installation and repair for engineering and manufacturing
  • Management and administration

And from September 2023 students can take T Levels in these subject areas:

  • Animal care and management
  • Agriculture, land management and production
  • Catering
  • Craft and design
  • Hair, beauty and aesthetics
  • Legal
  • Media, broadcast and production

See more on the T Levels: What courses are available? DfE blog.

How are T Levels graded? 

Students who complete their T Level will receive an overall grade of pass, merit, distinction or distinction*. They will get a nationally recognised certificate which will show their overall grade and a breakdown of their separate scores for the core component and each occupational specialism. 

It will also confirm they have completed the industry placement and met any additional requirements.

The first cohort of T level students completed their courses in 2022. They have now received their results, which are available to view on the government website.

Do all schools and colleges offer T Levels? 

T levels will only be available in England and are more likely to be taught in colleges because of their technical content. 

What happens after T Levels? 

Your child can go on to skilled employment, an apprenticeship or higher education — T Level grades have UCAS points allocated to them just like A Levels do.