Parents search

Curriculum, key stages and levels

State schools in England must teach a range of subjects in line with the National Curriculum, which covers learning for all children aged 5-16 years. The National Curriculum in England is broken into four Key Stages. Children are tested at the end of each Key Stage on the targets set in the National Curriculum.

Information for parents in Wales and Northern Ireland will be added here soon.

Focus on

National Curriculum (England)

Find out more
Focus on

Key stages (England)

Find out more
News, views and FAQs

Blog: Helping children to enjoy reading

Adrian Dawe, Founder and CEO of Bookabees shares his top tips for reading with young children.

Fathers' impact of young children's lanugage and literacy

"The time spent by fathers in reading to very young children is the strategy most consistently associated with their early reading and writing skills" (Clark, 2009). The Fatherhood Institute is the UK’s fatherhood think-and-do-tank. Their Fathers Reading Every Day (FRED) initiative is a simple, effective and sustainable intervention that gets dads reading to their children. It’s been piloted it in UK primary schools and early years settings and has shown that it can dramatically improve children’s outcomes. Find out more.

Stay in the know with the Parentkind eBulletin

Each half term we send out our Parent eBulletin with latest blogs, news articles and information to help you form great connections with your child's school, support their learning at home and have a voice in education. Sign up now!


Parentkind uses cookies to improve website functionality and analyse site usage. Click here for details of how to change your settings. By continuing to use this website you agree that we can save them on your device.